R

Wat Suchadaram

Small temple with Lanna, Lao and Burmese influence

The ubosot of the Wat Suchadaram
The beautifully restored ubosot
Name
Wat Suchadaram
Date
1804
Location
Pratoo Mah road
Lampang

The Wat Suchadaram, also known as Wat Chadaram is a small, attractive temple built in 1804. It was constructed by former residents of Chiang Saen who moved to Lampang, after their city was destroyed at the start of the 19th century.

The temple’s architectural style shows Lanna, Lao and Burmese influence. The Wat Suchadaram shares the same grounds with the adjacent Wat Phra Kaew Don Tao.

Legend of Mae Suchada

The temple is named after a local woman who once lived in the area named Mae Suchada. Local legend tells that Mae Suchada, who was a farmer, once offered a watermelon to a monk during a time of severe famine. Upon opening the watermelon, the monk found a large emerald that transformed into a Buddha image.

Local people became suspicious of the old lady and decided to behead her. When another famine broke out people realized their mistake and decided to build the Wat Suchadaram temple and name it after Mae Suchada.

Structures on the temple complex

The oldest structure of the Wat’s complex is the large chedi. The white structure set on a rectangular base is topped with a golden spire with a multi tiered umbrella on top of that.

The large viharn named Viharn Lai Kham with a three tiered roof is set on a stone base. The intricately carved wooden front façade is inlaid with colorful mosaics. Two Burmese style lions called Chinthes, guard its entrance.

The ubosot or ordination hall has been recently restored and is a very good condition with a particularly attractive ornate front façade. The small bot is set on a high stone base. Mythical Naga snakes guard the stairs to the ubosot’s entrance. Unfortunately, both the viharn and the ubosot appear to be locked most of the time.

How to get to the Wat Suchadaram

The Wat Suchadaram is located in Wiang Nuea, the old part of Lampang town just North of the Wang river. It is found on Pratoo Mah road, next to the Wat Phra Kaew Don Tao temple. The easiest way to get there from the center of town is by either chartered songthaew or horse drawn carriage.

Entrance fee & opening hours

The temple grounds open daily from 6 am until 6 pm. Admission is 20 Thai Baht. A ticket bought for adjacent Wat Phra Kaew Don Tao can also be used for this temple.